Haiku Friday – Spring

Cherry blossoms bloom
Struggling life pale in pink
such tenacity

 

 

 

Louceel hosts Haiku Friday

I have been studying Chinese ink brush painting for a year now. As time goes on, it becomes more and more challenging. What I find most difficult of all is fighting my own urges. When painting, I can focus on technique, structure and brush strokes for a certain amount of time, and then I simply MUST let go, and paint freely and expressively.

I am not sure if the structure has given me a better ability when I am expressive. One would assume it has. But the expression does not seem to benefit the structured approach. What is most beneficial to improved skill is time.

And so here we are again – painting spring blossoms.

4 thoughts on “Haiku Friday – Spring

  1. Best of luck in expressing yourself the way you’d like to in your paintings. Does Hong Kong have its own cherry blossoms? Also, do you have any paintings you’re super proud of?

  2. The Chinese paint with a certain rigor of style – that free expressiveness you feel would be like a breath of fresh air that style of painting truly would enjoy.

Leave a Reply

